The Changing World of J-School

July 28, 2011 at 10:53 pm (Uncategorized)

Last week I received a call from a young lady who attends my high school Alma Matter. She heard I am a journalism and history dual major at the University of Florida and wanted to hear about the renowned journalism department and how it is different from other journalism programs.

Reflecting back on why I chose UF as my college, where I am today and what I plan to accomplish in the future through the journalism department exceeds the expectations I had when I made my decision.

As I’m sure most see or have heard, the field of journalism is altering to fit the communication and technological needs of our global community. Social media, online news sources, blogs, YouTube and other sources of information make print journalism a difficult area to pursue. These reasons, in addition to my design pursuits, are why I chose UF’s journalism program.

Rather than silo-ing journalism majors into fields of online media or print journalism or magazines or telecommunications, etc., UF continues to implement modifications to their journalism curriculum to meet the needs of students interested in multiple areas of communication careers. As a freshman, I was able to immediately start j-school courses my first semester of college, regardless of how many credits I earned beforehand. At other colleges, students are required to earn “junior” status, finish pre-requisites and apply to the journalism school after already attending the university.

As a student pursuing two degrees, I still have the ability to focus on magazine writing/designing and multimedia communication within the journalism major. I can even take required journalism electives in a variety of areas that aren’t strictly the “magazine” or “multimedia” route. In addition, I chose electives and general education requirement courses that are of interest to me and that I feel will add to my skills as a journalist.

Future journalists, take these facts into consideration when deciding upon educational institutions after high school.

Leave a Reply

