Why not? The only thing they can say is “no”

June 17, 2011 at 11:48 pm (Uncategorized)

One of my internships offered two other interns and myself  the opportunity to attend the Tallahassee Republican’s Lincoln Day Dinner tonight. Florida’s governor, Rick Scott, was the guest speaker and spoke about how he is achieving his platforms for Florida’s businesses, job market, children education initiatives and others.

After Governor Scott’s speech, he immediately had another event to attend so he needed to leave early. I decided to take a risk and ask to introduce myself to the governor before he left. I was granted my request and took a picture with him:

Tonight, I’ve learned to take initiative and seek opportunities – the only thing that can happen is a verbalized “no.” Plucking up the courage to step-out on a limb is hard, but something I need to get over quickly. And I’ve seen the great results from a dinner such as this.

Leave a Reply

