Summer Reading List

June 16, 2011 at 3:24 am (Uncategorized)

I absolutely LOVE books! Jokingly, I tell my friends that immediately they will know my main interests when they walk into my room: ballet, Harry Potter and books. There are two bookshelves in my room in addition to the five sets of bookends all over my room – my family has even more books in the other rooms of our house.

Even when I was a little girl who could barely read, my mom would take me to the library each weekend and I would check-out as many books as I could carry. My mom had to start bedtime an hour earlier because of the large amount of books I wanted to read before I went to sleep.

Well I have to admit, since high school reading lists and multiple required texts for college, I seldom find myself reading for pleasure. So, I’ve devised a reading list for myself this summer. I have many more novels I would like to read, but these I must:

1.       We Still Hold These Truths by Matthew Spalding

As part of a summer intern “book club,” I read a chapter in this novel each week and discuss with the other interns I work with. This novel is more of a political genre that stresses the importance of following what the U.S. Constitution intended for America.

2.       Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

I became interested in this novel after hearing that the first part of Rand’s novel was made into a movie. I haven’t gotten through the 1,000+ word book yet, but I figure if I read about 25-30 pages each day, I can finish it sometime in July – fingers crossed!

3.       All Over but the Shoutin’ by Rick Bragg

I read Bragg’s other book, Somebody Told Me, for a journalism class this year and fell in love with his writing style. My mom bought me this book and the fourth on my list as Easter presents because I wanted to read more of his work and have more exposure to his perfected writing style.

4.       The Most They Ever Had by Rick Bragg

And if I have time to enjoy my fiction…

5.       Wicked by Gregory Maguire

My friends have seen this book turned Broadway play and I became really interested in the novel after hearing some of the play’s famous songs. I started the novel in December and now I just need to finish where I left off with Elphaba in the Vinkus country…

6.       The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova

I read Kostova’s previous book, The Historian, last summer and couldn’t put it down. Though well over 600 pages, I read every moment I could to finish in a few weeks. The tale is one of dark fiction with the belief that Vlad Drakula is still alive terrorizing historians who know him to exist in the modern day – this is not your regular “Twilight” novel. The Swan Thieves is Kostova’s second book and deals with a topic discussing focusing on art history.

Leave a Reply

